by Elizabeth Huff

If you are just starting out as a writer, you are probably still working a day job, not making enough yet to quit. I am right there with you and sometimes it seems like I will never be making enough to do what I love for a living. There is hope however. Most people who make money writing also do other things to supplement their income. Here are 10 things you can do to make money as a writer. Most of these opportunities are online, but there are some that can be done offline as well. There are obviously many more opportunities than what I’ve listed, but these are the most common that I’ve read about from my own research. As with any business opportunity you should be aware of possible scams and proceed with caution and open eyes. Many of these endeavors I have not tried myself, so I don’t offer any websites or contacts. If you are interested you will have to do your own research.

  1. Books/Screenplays (or any other form your writing takes)
  2. articles/poems for magazines, blogs, and newspapers
  3. Advertising (on your personal website or blog)
  4. Classes/Courses/Teleseminars etc.
  5. Sponsored blog posts
  6. Service oriented projects (Critiquing, rewriting, etc.)
  7. Entering Contests (there is alot of uncertainty in this option, so it really shouldn’t be your main means of supplementary income)
  8. Ghost writing
  9. Proofreading/Editing
  10. Product descriptions and other content for company websites
