Originally this was to help those self-published and/or self-promoting people who were having a hard time finding people to read their content. While I don’t claim any huge amount of success in the area myself (I am still learning the tricks of the trade), there are some rather similar problems that I have come across while researching the subject for my own needs.

Here is what I have figured out so far. Most people are very particular about how they spend their time. There is just too much “stuff” out there for them to experience, read, and absorb. As a sort of defense mechanism we have developed very good filters, which allow us to reject most things that waste our time, or that we aren’t interested in. Unfortunately that means that we also sometimes miss out on things that we might otherwise enjoy, all because of a little mistake.

Here are some of the questions I ask myself to try and make sure I get the biggest audience possible.

  • Is my content well-written?
  • Have I proof read at least once?
  • Do I have a catchy headline or title?
  • Am I easy to find?
  • Is there a way that I am setting myself apart?
  • Am I sure that I am promoting to the right people?
  • Did I let everyone I know, know about my content?
  • Am I using social media to the best of my abilities?
  • Have I used all my connections? (This refers mostly to free advertising opportunities like free classified ads and community groups)
  • Am I doing enough thinking outside of the box?
  • Is the product worth the price?
